What The Difference Between Milk Kefir vs Water Kefir

2 General Categories of Kefir

Kefir is generally divided into 2 types. “Milk Kefir”, a probiotic beverage that using milk as base to feed the grain. As well as “Water Kefir”, another probiotic-rich beverage, instead of using milk as base, water and sugar is the base for this type of kefir.

Each of kefirs have their own characteristics. If you’re looking to add probiotics to your daily routine, see which of these fermented beverages is best for you!

Milk Kefir is made with cow milk, goat milk, or coconut milk. It may also be made with other non-dairy milks, such as soy milk or almond milk though results may be inconsistent.

Water Kefir is made with sugar water, fruit juice, or coconut water. Water kefir also requires a starter culture.

WHAT KEFIR CONTAINS
Milk Kefir Grains are a traditional reusable starter culture used to make a probiotic-rich beverage with live active yeast and bacteria. Our Milk Kefir Grains are propagated in organic milk.

Water Kefir Grains are a traditional reusable starter culture used to make a dairy-free cultured beverage with live active yeast and bacteria. Our Water Kefir Grains are grown in organic sugar and filtered water.

HOW KEFIR TASTES
Milk Kefir tastes like a cultured milk. The taste of any particular batch depends on the level of fermentation. Well-fermented kefir can have a strong sour or tart taste and can even be a bit carbonated. Shorter fermentation can yield a more mild flavor.

Water Kefir tends to have a sweet, slightly fermented flavor. Water kefir might be more gassy compare to milk kefir.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *