What is Kefir?

Kefir is a cultured, fermented beverage that tastes sourish and similar to yogurt drink. It’s made using “starter” grains, just as sourdough bread has a “starter.” This starter is a combination of yeasts, milk proteins, and bacteria. It has a tart, creamy flavor, and it’s loaded with probiotic health benefits.

Kefir is most commonly made with dairy milk, but it can be made with non-dairy alternatives including:

  • coconut milk
  • goat’s milk
  • rice milk
  • coconut water

Because kefir is fermented, most people who are lactose intolerant can actually drink kefir.

Kefir is now widely accessible in most places. It can be found in some form in most grocery stores near the dairy or yogurt. It’s often used to improve digestion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *